Skip to content ↓

Upton Hall School

Inspiring Young People


Course Overview

The BTEC Extended Certificate is equivalent to 1 A Level. This qualification supports progression to a wide range of higher education courses, not necessarily in IT.

The aim of the BTEC Extended Certificate in IT is to introduce candidates to the study of creating IT systems to manage and share information.

Entry Requirements

A grade 5 in English and Mathematics will enable you to access this qualification. A keen interest in ICT and good time management are also essential qualities.

A Level Topics and Assessment

BTEC Extended Certificate Units

1. Information Technology Systems

2. Creating Systems to Manage Information

3. Using Social Media in Business

4. Data Modelling

BTEC Extended Certificate

Unit 1

Unit 2

Unit 3

Unit 4


Written Exam:

2 Hours

Exam Board Task


Practical Task

Beyond the Classroom and Future Prospects

Many sectors such as Government, music, hospitality, sports, etc. employ IT professionals. Past pupils have gone on to study Coding, Forensic Computing, Cyber Security and Business Information Systems. The subject contains many transferable skills useful for other courses and complements most other subjects. Indeed, such is the shortage of IT specialists, that one company offer advanced apprenticeships in a Sponsored Degree Higher Apprentice Programme, which means you can get paid whilst studying for a degree!

Student Experience

I enjoyed studying Information Technology because it has given me many skills that are useful in this world of ever changing technology. The subject encouraged me to think independently.